Recipe: Homemade Swiss Style Museli (via River Cottage)

Recently, on a Sunday evening I have found myself watching re-runs of River Cottage Every Day. A few weeks ago Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall presented some interesting options for breakfast including his own homemade Swiss Style Museli. I’m always looking for new breakfast ideas as it is the meal that I fail to get very excited about (unless it’s a fry up at a greasy spoon after a night out!), so I decided to give the museli recipe a go. It’s all I’ve been having every morning and when I realised I was almost out and needed to make up some more, I thought I’d share it with you:




Ingredients:

200g porridge oats


150g mixed dried fruit of your choice, such as raisins, sultanas, dried apricots, dates, prunes


100g nuts of your choice, lightly toasted if you have time


100g wheat flakes (optional)

3-4 tbsp seeds, such as pumpkin, sunflower, sesame or flax (optional)


To serve (for 1)

1 crisp eating apple

Juice of 1-2 oranges (or a little milk, if you prefer)

Sugar or honey

Plain yoghurt

How to make swiss style muesli:


1. To make the muesli, put the oats in a bowl. Roughly chop larger dried fruits, such as apricots, dates and prunes. Leave the nuts whole, or chop them roughly if you prefer. Add the fruit and nuts to the oats, together with the wheat flakes and seeds if using, and stir to combine. Tip into an airtight container, seal and store in a cool, dark place until required.




2. For a serving of muesli, put about 50g of the muesli mix into a bowl. Coarsely grate or finely chop the apple (including the skin) and add this to the muesli. Squeeze the orange(s) and add the juice to the bowl (or use milk, if you like). Stir to blend everything evenly and leave to soak for about 10 minutes. Finally, sprinkle over just a little sugar or trickle over some honey, add a good dollop of yoghurt and serve.


I prefer to serve mine with a large dollop of Greek yoghurt, fresh raspberries and a large drizzle of honey, how do you like yours? Next week I plan to try out the River Cottage answer to the Pot Noodle: Chorizo and Tomato Instant Noodles in a Pot. I’ll let you know how that goes, naturally.

Leave a comment