[SUNDAY STYLE] Musings On Style

breakfast in bed

How’s your week been? Here, it’s been more work than play. Which is not how we like it at Sugar & Spice HQ. This weekend has, then, been all about play and relaxation. Leisurely walks into town, long catch ups over coffee and cake, girly dinner out and a little reading too.

My first link of the week has to be for this brilliantly brave post by South Molton St Style to the troll who has been leaving horrible comments on blog posts. I honestly don’t understand the people who hide behind the so-called safety of the anonymity of the internet. It’s not safe, it’s cowardly.

This piece at Frills and Feathers sums up exactly how I feel about dressing. The idea that it doesn’t have to be complicated or brightly coloured, it just has to feel right to work. Someone asked me about my “style” this week. I always feel a little awkward about how to best answer this. When you tell people you write a fashion blog they seem to have a preconceived idea about what that might mean about how you dress and your sense of “style”. For me, I look to icons who dress simply: Alexa Chung, Kate Moss, Ines de la Fressange. These women know what suits them and they stick to that. It’s taken me quite a few years – and I don’t always get it right – but I am beginning to know how best to dress for me. For me, that’s style.

Fashion is something else. It’s like art. Some people can wear art. Others look like a finger painting if they try to be too fashionable.

Style needs work and time. What might be dull to one person, will be stylish to another. The Online Stylist calls it Uncomplicated Sophistication. Minimalist chic.

So what is my “style”? For me, skinny bottoms (mainly jeans) with ankle boots (in the winter) with a looser top works best. Short biker-style jackets. And big scarves. For layering. These pieces are what fill my wardrobe. And these are the pieces that are most worn. Is that style? Or just getting dressed?

What’s your style? How do you define style?

Image via Pinterest

Leave a comment